Christ Church Library
Music catalogue
IntroductionNewsBrowseSearch Quick search:

Mus. 49 (pp. 48-65)

Manuscript. Four motets by Giovanni Felice Sances, the first two copied by Edward Lowe, the second two jointly by Lowe (basso continuo) and Francis Withy (voice-part and text). English, 1670s.

Table of titles and composers in modern form. Display form found in manuscript.

1 Felice Sances O quam speciosa pp. 50-53
2 Felice Sances Quemadmodum desiderat pp. 54-56
3 Felice Sances Solvatur lingua me pp. 58-61
4 Felice Sances Conditor caeli pp. 61-65

Upright format, 315 x 195 mm. Nine folios; collation unclear, but probably two fascicles, the first of 2 nested bifolios (= 4 folios; pp. 48-55), the second originally of 4 nested bifolios (= 8 folios), of which only the first 5 folios survive (pp. 56-65). Pagination is modern. Unused ruled staves on p. 48 (which is headed by Lowe: '2 songes for a Countertenor alone'), p. 49 and p. 57. Now bound into Mus. 49, a late 18th-century guardbook bound in white parchment over boards.

Provenance unknown, but presumably from either the Aldrich or the Goodson bequest.

Microfilm: manuscript music, reel 6.


Jonathan P. Wainwright, Musical Patronage in Seventeenth-Century England: Christopher, First Baron Hatton (1605-1670) (Aldershot and Brookfield VT, 1997), pp. 378-82. Find in a Library